University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Faculty of Arts Awards 2017

The Faculty of Arts Awards were held on May 3, 2017 and we are proud to announce that CMF was honoured in the categories of Teaching and Staff Excellence!


The Faculty of Arts Teaching Awards acknowledge teaching excellence as critically important to our faculty; they recognize undergraduate and graduate teaching in the areas of classroom instruction, course design, curriculum development, leadership in teaching and innovation in teaching methods.


Lee Carruthers (Department of Communication, Media and Film) – The film studies program at the University of Calgary is a young one having started in 2008, and that’s also the year Lee Carruthers was hired here. Since then she has been instrumental in helping the program grow to its current position, as one of the best film studies programs in the country. She has done this by being that rare instructor who engages with every student in her class, creating an intellectually stimulating, technology enriched learning environment. 

Staff Excellence

The Faculty of Arts Outstanding Staff Recognition Award celebrates individual or team achievements through an annual award nomination process, which is open to all staff in the Faculty of Arts. Two awards will be given annually to an individual staff member and staff team in the Faculty of Arts.


Mimi Daniel, Kristine Ennis, Megan Freeman, Krystle Monahan (Department of Communication, Media and Film) – The importance of a great administration staff to any department can’t be undervalued and over in Communication, Media and Film they have one of the best teams in the faculty. Department manager Mimi Daniel, undergraduate program administrator Kristine Ennis, administrative assistant to the head Krystle Monahan and graduate program administrator Megan Freeman create a cohesive and collegial atmosphere in the department that is both professional and fun. Together their work supports every member of the department. 

Congratulations to the winners!